Mogo Local Aboriginal Lands Council

Mogo LALC boundaries are located in the traditional country of a number of Aboriginal communities with distinct cultures and language groups: Whilst the original people of the area were the Monara and Yuin nations, who were the custodians of the land and waterways of southern New South Wales, from Cape Howe to the Shoalhaven River, the language groups were known as the Bidawal, the Thaua, Ngarigo and the Djiiringanj.

The Monaro and Yuin people have significant heritage in the area with many Aboriginal sites and features being identified. In the language of the Yuin people the word ‘Mogo is said to mean ‘ Stone Axe and large camping ground’. The Aboriginal history of the area includes locations such as Tomakin and Barlings Beach where Aboriginal families tell of the significant spiritual and cultural associations of this area.

Mogo LALC has mandate over a large geographical area one which ranges from the coast to the aplpine regions of Mt Kosciuszko:-5,900 sq. km. The area includes the towns of Mogo, the seaside villages of Batehaven, Tomakin and Broulee and the inland hamlets of Captains Flat and Michalego.